FREE Pattern – Patriotic Tablerunner

July 4th is almost here – you might be planning on grilling, or having a picnic, or maybe just enjoying some ice tea on the porch while you watch the local fireworks display.

Are you tired of ‘decorating’ by buying appropriately themed paper plates?  I thought a new tablerunner was in order this year – and I had been asked to make a June pattern for OLFA’s website, it was perfect – my pattern would be a tablerunner and I would post it here for my readers as well.  (If you haven’t checked out the patterns on OLFA’s website, you might want to.)

You’ll love this pattern – it really does make up a great runner in a hurry!

The key to how quickly this pattern can be made is that it uses the “Stitch & Flip” method of quilting.  Never used this method before – don’t worry, I’m going to walk you through the basics – then you can download the pattern below and try it out for yourself.

  • Lay out the backing fabric for your placemat, right side DOWN against the table.
  • Lay your batting on top of that, with the center point of the batting marked (as you will see in my pattern – I suggest folding the batting and marking the center with a pen)
  • Take your first strip (for this pattern, it’s a red fabric strip), and lay it along the center line.   This is laid right side UP.
  • Take your next strip (white in this pattern) and lay it right side DOWN right on top of the red fabric.
  • Now, sew through the white strip, the red strip, the batting AND the backing – one line of stitching (on either side of the white strip), using a 1/4″ seam allowance.  This was the ‘stitch’ part of the “Stitch and Flip” method.
  • Next, FLIP the white strip down (so it’s now right side UP), and iron flat. Yep, this was the ‘flip’ part of the method.
  • It’s just about that simple – just repeat these steps, alternating between red and white strips to create the stripe pattern seen in the picture above.

It might seem a little tricky when you get to the stars at the edge of the table runner – and to be honest, those stars are why I rated this pattern as ‘intermediate’ for the OLFA website.  I suggest you try making one using scrap fabrics first – after trying the scrap version, if you decide the star is too frustrating, then consider making your placemats with applique stars instead.  Or use a blue/white star print for the edges of your table runner.

Pattern for Patriotic Tablerunner – I hope you enjoy it!

Sheila Reinke, Heart of Sewing
Sheila

5 thoughts on “FREE Pattern – Patriotic Tablerunner

  1. Shirley Keen says:

    I love your blog and hearing about what you are up to. My two sisters and I so enjoyed the retreats we attended with you in the past and hope to be able to schedule another one soon.

    I have saved your blog as a “favorite”.

    Thanks.

    Like

  2. Tannis says:

    Shelia – My husband and I are getting ready for a trip to Germany. I hope to hit some quilt shops while we’re there. It will be fun to see what types of fabrics and patterns they have over there.

    I’ll be back and ready to attend the quilt retreat in mid October in Ashland. Looking forward to it – my friend said she saw the quilt in the 132nd Street store and said it is BEAUTIFUL! Can’t wait for the retreat!!

    Like

Leave a comment